Find the answer to your Linux question:
First what is the difference between doing a gcc and a g++? You can answer that question, but that is really a-side to what I really need to know. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

trying to get gcc to work

First what is the difference between doing a gcc and a g++?

You can answer that question, but that is really a-side to what I really need to know. I am a real newbie at all this linux stuff, and I wanted to setup a IDE for C++ programming. But apparently all the C libraries aren't configured right, or they are not in my path. The error message when I did a simple "hello world" program, said
    test1.cc:4:18: stdlib: No such file or directory

I am guessing that means the STL isn't in the path. But I have no idea where all these things are. I just know gcc was intalled when I installed RH (because I chose nearly all the packages to install).

And another thing, do people do"
    #include <stdlib.h>
    or without the .h? I don't get it?

Just Joined!
    I'm not sure I completly understand your post but I'll try to help.

1. I believe g++ just lets gcc know that you intend to compile C++ code rather than C. gcc is pretty smart and a top notch compiler that can compile a bunch of different langs. C++ just being one more of many. Sam's teach yourself C for linux - is a great book and can help you with included lib funcs...However I'm not sure if they made a C++ book...and if you already know C++ on another OS then the beginning of the book will be boring. There is another book by Osbourne Press call "GCC the complete reference" - this may be the droid your looking for .

2. I never got the error you posted so I am really not sure. However I would gamble that it does not recognize the library function you called for <stdlib> I really don't work on compiled code much (read: never) (i'm into perl ) but I don't recall that lib func.