Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
alright well as the name says this is my first time installing liunux ive only used distros before but i got tired of loosing my setting each time i rebooted ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

First Timer

alright well as the name says this is my first time installing liunux ive only used distros before but i got tired of loosing my setting each time i rebooted so i have decided to install a full linux...

Ok well i read the tutorial for dual booting since i still want to keep my XP Pro OS for since my parents sometimes use that. But it says if im installing on one phisycall drive i need to partion it.. well unfortunately i dont know how to do that... so i was wondering if anyone can help me with this... i read somewhere that i need to run fdisk to do the partioning and i need to download a boot disk (it recommended the windows ME bootdisk since it had the most recent version of FDISK and better for partioning hdd bigger than 64MB) so how would i use this?

and one last question while istalling does the linux installation install LILO or GRUB? or do i have to download and install before running the linux installation?

also if it makes any diffrence i want to install Slackware 10.0...

thx for any help in advance

-ChriSTP

Just Joined!
    Good luck with your linux install -

First things first, your paritioning... If you only have one physical drive, and do not want to loose any data (meaning do not want to reinstall windows) you would first have to resize your partition. This requires a special utility and is not included with the OS.

First off, if your current filesystem is NOT NTFS, you can use almost anything. FIPS is a free program and I have had great luck with it. You can get FIPS from here http://www.igd.fhg.de/~aschaefe/fips/