Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34
Why did you burn them to a CD? Why didn't you just leave them where they were downloaded? Anyway, now that it's done, just run these commands: Code: mount /dev/cdrom ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578

    Why did you burn them to a CD? Why didn't you just leave them where they were downloaded?
    Anyway, now that it's done, just run these commands:
    Code:
    mount /dev/cdrom
    exec su -
    cd /mnt/cdrom
    rpm -ihv NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0248.rh80up_2.4.18_14.athlon.rpm
    Remeber, that while typing the name of the RPM, you can use tab completion to have the shell complete the file name for you, instead of typing the entire file name yourself.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    38
    OK gonna try it now

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    38
    Ok when I type in the rpm command it says it cannot find file. Should I try and burn a new cd?

  4. #14
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Why do you keep insisting on burning CDs with the drivers? Just download them and install them in place.
    Are you normally running as an ordinary user or as root?

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    38
    Well tell me how to download them when I don't even have a GUI. I am loginning in as root all the time for now.

  6. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Oh, I didn't understand that you had no X at all. I'm not sure that the nVidia driver installation scripts will react positively to that, since I think they require that you have a somewhat working X installation (with some generic driver, like the SVGA driver) before you install them. How comes your X doesn't work?

  7. #17
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    yeah, that is weird, if you can, post your xf86config file here and the errors you are getting.
    bottom line is if you don't have X before you install the nvidia drivers, you won't have it after either - you have to address the original issue

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    38
    OK when I setup the video section in the install it says I am using a VGSA generic. I haven't tried to use X yet but I will try later on.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    38
    Looks like I might have to reinstall. Ok what should I say my vid card is?

  10. #20
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Choose the nVidia drivers that come with the distro. They (really) aren't fast, but they work.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •