Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I installed off the ftp about a month ago but winxp just hosed my computer so I had to zero my drive. This time I went to install suse and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21

    Suse 9.1 FTP Install Worked Once and Never Again :(


    I installed off the ftp about a month ago but winxp just hosed my computer so I had to zero my drive. This time I went to install suse and I get this error everytime I try to install..... it connects to the server, downloads the ram cache then I get this:

    creating device nodes ... done
    using udev as hotplug helper
    /mounts/intsys/sbin/inst_setup: line 62:/lbin/lndir: no such file or directory
    mkdir: cannot create directory 'lib/modules/2.4.21-144-default: Read-only file system
    integrating the shared objects of the installation system
    ldconfig: can't open configuration file /etc/ld.so.conf: No such file or directory
    starting syslog (messages are logged to /dev/tty4) ...
    starting klogd ...
    integrating kernal modules of the installation system
    starting yast
    No keyboard detected. Trying to connect via serial interface /dev/ttyS0.
    On your terminal computer start the user interface with
    y2base "serial(115200):/dev/ttyS0" qt --fullscreen --noborder --auto-fonts
    or
    y2base "serial(115200):/dev/ttyS1" qt --fullscreen --noborder --auto-fonts
    or start the YaST2 menu by typing "yast2" and select YaST2/Remote Install
    Cannot read pwd entry for user id 0. No logconf, using defaults.

    and if I type something it gets echoed to the screen but nothing happens.... I have tried several servers and no change.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    why don't you download the iso's and install it manually?
    Linux For Ever!

  3. #3
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    consider getting the image for a bootable floppy/cd like stathisx said, then just install the packages off the ftp, this method is more common as you will be booted in a fully functional linux enviroment. Are you panning on keeping xp at all? or having it kick the can?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21
    I need to keep it around for photoshop webcam msn and some of my games (Sim City 4 etc).... so you are suggesting I download the iso's for SuSE rather than do an ftp install?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    thats what stathisx is saying, once you get cozi in linux, there are ports/comprables of all those programs (mabey w/ the exception of webmsn.) Try the gimp if you use photoshop, i think you will be impressesed, i was.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21
    I still need my waterwings lol can't just jump into the deep end quite yet....

  7. #7
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    definetly, leave windows intact, just start to make the migration, what happens to lots of people is they realise that they havent used there windows partition in months, then they delete it. Just making you aware of the options.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21
    ya thats how is has gone with me.... using SuSE I found I wasn't booting into windows like ever.... and the more I learn the less I go back

  9. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    420
    The cause of the problem you are having with repeating the net install may because of holdovers if you did not format the drive before reinstalling Windows. Since the personal edition is now free, I would go with this as others have suggested.

    Counterspy

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21
    well I didnt' just format I zeroed both drives completely so they should have both been at factory state.... then I installed windowz xp and used the install disk to may a 25gig partition for windows (NTFS) and then leave the rest in RAW form

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •