Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux. I would like to install NVU html editor on this machine. I am unsure what version of Linux to download and when downloaded how do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing software on Asus Eee PC

I am new to Linux. I would like to install NVU html editor on this machine. I am unsure what version of Linux to download and when downloaded how do you install as it does not seem to have an 'exe' file like Windows nor does it have a readme or install file to click. Help. Incidentally what are 'Distros' ?

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums geo-02!

Distros = distributions, meaning Linux distributions.

For minimal problems, you should always use the default package manager for the distribution that you are using to install software under Linux.

Take a look at the link in my signature for lots of information on getting started with Linux, and don't hesitate to post back should you have any other questions.
    oz

Hi geo-02 and welcome!

The EEE PC uses a modified vesion of Xandros Linux (another distro) and is kind of set up to be a specialized laptop that does what it does and that's it. That was the intent I think anyway, However you can download and install other Linux software onto it. Exe's are for Windows and are not made for Linux although you can run some Windows apps in Linux under Wine but that's another story.

To add software to the EEE PC, you have to start from the command line, but really it's not very hard. You do need to be aware of how the process works and the package names though if you are going to do it.

Open the "Work" tab, then open the "File Manager." Go up to "Tools" on the top task bar, then choose "Open Console Window." You will then be in the Linux command line. Ensuring you have an active Internet connection, type in:
    Code:
    sudo synaptic