Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I was wondering if you could help me. Okay I have ubuntu 7.04, 7.10 and 8.04. I have some older versions. I can get 6.10 and 7.04 to work. but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Ubuntu questions


    I was wondering if you could help me.

    Okay I have ubuntu 7.04, 7.10 and 8.04. I have some older versions. I can get 6.10 and 7.04 to work. but when I try to run 7.10 on my pc it does everything fine but when it gets to the desktop my screen goes black. like it is in sleep mode.

    I tried to install ubuntu 8.04 but it says I have an io error,

    If I were to get it to work .
    would ubuntu 8.04 work on a pentium 3 450 MHZ 15 gig hard drive 384 ram and Dell ATI Rage 128 Pro 16MB AGP VGA Video Card - 2G813 Would it work.

    One other question if I use the upgrade way of using ubuntu 7.10 from 7.04 will it work with my video card. This card, Dell ATI Rage 128 Pro 16MB AGP VGA Video Card - 2G813

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie raghaven.kumar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    209
    See if you have any graphic driver disabled in Restricted Driver Manager ?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation I checked my restricted driver folder

    I checked that and it says I have no drive restrictions. What can I do. Ifg U pgrade from 7.04 will I still be able to see the desktop on the newer version . will I be able to see my desktop when I update to 7.10

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie raghaven.kumar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    209
    im not sure why your desktop is not showing
    so i cant recommend upgrade.

    however, you can check /var/log/messages for any errors
    if none try Upgrade

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Try to reconfigure GUI.
    Execute this
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    It said permission denied what does that mean

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    What does this mean


    Users of PowerPC machines, and users of any computer with multiple video ↑
    │ devices, should specify the BusID of the video card in an accepted ▮
    │ bus-specific format. ▒
    │ ▒
    │ Examples: ▒
    │ ▒
    │ ISA:1 ▒
    │ PCI:0:16:0 ▒
    │ SBUS:/iommu@0,10000000/sbus@0,10001000/SUNW,tcx@2,800000 ▒
    │ ▒
    │ ▒
    │ For users of multi-head setups, this option will configure only one of ▒
    │ the heads. Further configuration will have to be done manually in the X ▒
    │ server configuration file, /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

    When possible, this question has been pre-answered for you and you ▮
    │ should accept the default unless you know it doesn't work. ↓

    │ <Ok>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    It said permission denied what does that mean
    Did you type exact command? Are you the only user or you have created multiple users?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •