Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Ok, I don't know where else to ask this, but I just started using linux (Ubuntu) and everything has been smooth so far. Now, I want to install MoBlock (I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    35

    Can someone show me how to install a program (more info inside)?


    Ok, I don't know where else to ask this, but I just started using linux (Ubuntu) and everything has been smooth so far. Now, I want to install MoBlock (I'm trying to learn how to install things). its location is "/home/user/Documents/downloads/MoBlock" and it has a readme, changelog, copying, makefile, MoBlock.c, MoBlock-ipq.sh, MoBlock-nfq.sh, rbt.c.

    This is what the makefile says

    # To use the old-soon-to-be-deprecated libipq interface
    # uncomment the following line and comment the NFQUEUE one,
    # then comment the gcc line with netfilter_queue and
    # uncomment the following one.

    #QUEUE_LIB=LIBIPQ
    QUEUE_LIB=NFQUEUE

    CFLAGS=-Wall -O2 -march=i586 -mtune=i686 -fomit-frame-pointer -ffast-math \
    -D_GNU_SOURCE -D$(QUEUE_LIB) -L/usr/include/libipq
    CC=gcc

    all: moblock


    moblock: MoBlock.o rbt.o
    gcc -o $@ MoBlock.o rbt.o -lnetfilter_queue -lnfnetlink
    #gcc -o $@ MoBlock.o rbt.o -lipq
    strip $@

    moblock-static: MoBlock.o rbt.o
    gcc -static -o $@ MoBlock.o rbt.o -lnetfilter_queue -lnfnetlink
    #gcc -static -o $@ MoBlock.o rbt.o -lipq
    strip $@

    clean:
    rm -f *.o *~ *# moblock

    install:
    install -m 755 moblock $(DESTDIR)/usr/bin

    .PHONY: clean

    I follow the how to guide

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...are-linux.html

    I get to the "more INSTALL" step and it fails. How would I install this? I've tried for awhile, but I can't figure it out. Tell me if you need any more information. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    "more INSTALL", is a command to read a file called "INSTALL", which you don't have. Have a look in the readme file you mentioned, and it will probably have installation instructions.

    Judging from that makefile though, I'd guess you need to do this,
    Code:
    make all
    sudo make install
    That's just a guess.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    35
    The readme states:

    Installation & Usage.

    Just untar somwhere.
    To build MoBlock from sources just do

    make

    in the directory where you extracted it. If you want to compile using
    the old libipq library you must edit the Makefile, on top of it you
    will find detailed instructions.

    The static version was compiled on Slackware 10.2 with gcc 3.4.5, if you
    don't want to install the libnetfilter libraries try it, just rename it
    to "moblock".

  4. #4
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    And what happens when you type "make" in the directory where you extracted it?
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    35
    First, thanks for all the help, I appreciate it.

    When I type "make" in the terminal, many errors appear, the most common is "warning, implicit declaration of built in function (followed by a word like "malloc" or "strlen" or "strcpy".

  6. #6
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Since you're using Ubuntu, I found a link for installing using apt-get (which is much easier).

    moblock-deb: Debian packages for MoBlock (a PeerGuardian alternative for linux)

    There's info at the bottom on what to add to your /etc/apt/sources.list file, and how to update your package list.

    This will let you install moblock with a simple command,
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install moblock
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    Quote Originally Posted by nightmare View Post
    First, thanks for all the help, I appreciate it.

    When I type "make" in the terminal, many errors appear, the most common is "warning, implicit declaration of built in function (followed by a word like "malloc" or "strlen" or "strcpy".
    That means that you are missing all the relevant dev stuff, since those header files that you mention are the standard ones. You need to install gcc and glibc to be able to compile programs.

    Alternatively, as someone said above, look on the net for a deb pre-compiled package and use that instead. That way, you don't have to compile anything.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    35
    I type in "sudo apt-get install moblock" and "sudo aptitude install moblock" and it goes through and reads package lists, building dependency tree, and reading state information, but then the error comes up "E:Couldn't find package moblock" or "Couldn't find any package whose name or description match moblock". (the moblock file is on my desktop, if that matters) Also, the deb packages for 8.04 Hardy Heron give me a 404 error, and won't connect to a page, so could it be a server problem?

    Again, thanks for the help.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    if you edited your sources.list file as per the previous post, you first have to run
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    before you can install it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •