Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40
Ok so I might have found something here, I went back and checked the /etc/fstab entires that I changed to dereference the UUIDs and I noticed that it got cleared/edited ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    20

    Ok so I might have found something here, I went back and checked the /etc/fstab entires that I changed to dereference the UUIDs and I noticed that it got cleared/edited somehow. Here is what is contains

    unionfs / unionfs rw 0 0
    tmpfs /tmp tmpfs nosuid,nodev 0 0
    /dev/sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0

  2. #22
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Code:
    ## ## End Default Options ##
    
    title Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=/dev/sda3 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic
    quiet
    Should get Ubuntu back in working order again.
    Code:
    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sda2
    title Windows Vista/Longhorn (loader)
    root (hd0,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    and try this mod for Vista ... do they work again?

    Ed: looks as though your partitions were renumbered during the XP install or partition resizing or something similar which has stopped grub menu entries from working.

    I think you will also need to alter the /etc/fstab of your installed Ubuntu ... to do this boot from the live CD and remount partition sda3 and edit it with nano (something like post #6).
    Everything else is working you can sort the uuid stuff out again if you want.

  3. #23
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Your Ubuntu is on partition 4 so run the commands suggested changing the root (hd0,2) to root (hd0,3). You can see this in your menu.lst file

    sudo grub
    root (hd0,3)
    setup (hd0)
    quit

    Your posting of the 'ls /manmount/boot' command shows the vmlinuz and initrd files are there.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    20
    Ok that edit got the Ubuntu install working again, as for the Vista install I now get

    Error 11: Unrecognized device string

  6. #25
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Can you post just the Vista part of your grub menu.lst file again ... if you booted from the hard drive
    Code:
    sudo cat /boot/grub/menu.lst
    should work now.

  7. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    20
    The vista portion of menu.lst reads

    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sda2
    title Windows Vista/Longhorn (loader)
    root (hd0,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    Edit: OK nm, there was a typo in root (hd0,0)....it was spelled (hd0,o)

  8. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    20
    Alright so, the GRUB loader is almost correct now, Ubuntu loads up correctly and the Vista option loads up XP. So I imagine I need to add an entry for XP and fix the Vista boot record, but I am not exactly sure how to do that with Super Grub.

  9. #28
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    I think you need to fix Windows Vista boot using the link yancek gave in post #14, add XP entry and check both version of Windows boot and then re-install grub using the live Ubuntu live CD and post #16

  10. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    20
    The first command the tutorial calls for is a
    E:\boot\Bootsect.exe /NT60 All
    The problem is I am running this command under Windows XP 32Bit.
    When I run this command from the command prompt under administrator I get the error "E:\boot\bootsect.exe is not a valid Win32 application." Which I imagine is due to the fact that the Vista x64 install disk uses a 64 bit application. Should I use the Vista x86 install disk or would that make things worse?

  11. #30
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    20
    Ok, so the method I used to fix the Vista boot was to just boot to the Vista DVD and use the "Repair Startup" option. It was pretty fast and didnt require any NTLDR editing. I will post back once I get the XP install added into GRUB.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •