Find the answer to your Linux question:
Let me state this first and foremost: I am a far cry from a newbie, but I also would not consider myself an expert. I have played with various distributions ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Proposed OS Setup: Light Host + Xen/VMWare + XP + Suse

Let me state this first and foremost: I am a far cry from a newbie, but I also would not consider myself an expert. I have played with various distributions of Linux enough to know and understand it fairly well, so feel free to get techie in your advice. On the other hand, try not to get too terribly esoteric, just so that we can avoid any unneeded obfuscation. Now on with the proposal . . .

I will be getting a new laptop within the next couple of days (already ordered and on its way, so hardware suggestions would be useless at this point), that will come default with Windows XP Professional. As a college student, I must retain Windows for the odd office application I will need or whatnot, but there is no way that I could survive without a Linux desktop (my personal choice is openSUSE 10.3). I have had enough experiences with dual booted machines to know it is not worth the hassle--I boot into windows to use some app, then wind up staying there because it's too much trouble to reboot into Linux just to have to return to MSW again 10 minutes later--so I am opting instead for virtualization.

First, my plan, then, my questions.

The Plan:

I would like the machine to boot quickly to a minimal Linux OS, equipped with a web browser and one or two other necessary/useful apps/services. From there, I wish to be able to load XP and Suse as VMs, with optimal performance.