Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Originally Posted by EdSquareCat /etc/fstab: # /etc/fstab: static file system information. # # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass> proc /proc proc defaults 0 0 # /dev/sda3 UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043

    Quote Originally Posted by EdSquareCat View Post
    /etc/fstab:

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # /dev/sda3
    UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=07D6-0407 /media/sda1 vfat defaults,utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
    # /dev/sda2
    UUID=44A85BA0A85B8F74 /media/sda2 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
    Quote Originally Posted by EdSquareCat View Post
    ls /dev/disk/by-uuid -l:
    Code:
    total 0
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 2008-06-25 20:13 032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df -> ../../sda5
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 2008-06-25 20:13 07D6-0407 -> ../../sda1
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 title
    sudo -s
    mkdir /manmount
    mount /dev/sda5 /manmount
    cat /manmount/boot/grub/menu : (after default option stuff)
    Code:
               Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-19-generic
    root            (hd0,4)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro quiet splash
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic
    quiet
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-19-generic (recovery mode)
    root            (hd0,4)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro single
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic
    This error comes up when I try to select Ubuntu 8.04 is GRUB.
    I don't have a swap partition; I have 2 gigs of RAM which I thought was sufficient.

    P.S. Why does it give me so many different kernel versions of Ubuntu? What are they for? Could I comment most of those out?

    P.S.S. What did I just do?
    I wanted to check uuid information ... to check root in fstab and root match entries in bold.

    It looks as though you have had Ubuntu on the system and have done a kernel update ... you can comment out the Ubuntu entries except the ones with kernel 2.6.24-19-generic in the title. The reason for the error is an incorrect partition reference ... I guess you have created an extended partition and moved the root partition to it which means the grub entries are incorrect eg (hd0,2) should be (hd0,4).

    For each command try man command_name eg man mount ... if you have a more specific question after reviewing the man pages I will try to explain

    Ed: you can use nano to edit the grub menu.lst file eg by using
    Code:
    sudo -s
    mkdir /manmount
    mount /dev/sda5 /manmount
    nano /manmount/boot/grub/menu.lst
    Make the changes to the menu (hd0,2) -> (hd0,4), save the changes and restart the system ... the Ubuntu menu entries in the grub menu should work ... let us know how it goes

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks, Ubuntu starts perfectly now! I just have a few questions. Why did the partition switch to sda5? As far as I know there is nothing on sda3 and sda4, and 7.04 was on sda3. Also, why does it install so many different kernel versions? Thanks again for the help.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by EdSquareCat View Post
    Thanks, Ubuntu starts perfectly now! I just have a few questions. Why did the partition switch to sda5? As far as I know there is nothing on sda3 and sda4, and 7.04 was on sda3. Also, why does it install so many different kernel versions? Thanks again for the help.
    Glad things are working again. I don't know why the partition has been changed to sda5, sda3 is an extended partition which contains sda5. When kernel updates occur the old version of the kernel is retained incase there are problems with the new version. That way you can still get Linux to boot with the old version to fix the problem.

    You can have upto 4 primary partitions sda1 to sda4 one of which can be an extended partition. The extended partition can contain logical partitions sda5 onwards (usually limited to sda16). You should be able to find quite a lot of information on the web about partitioning.

  4. #14
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    Well done Jonathan...saved the day again! Isn't it time you got promoted to Linux guru? Here's a vote from me, anyway!
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  5. #15
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by Manchunian View Post
    Isn't it time you got promoted to Linux guru?
    That would imply I know what I'm doing but thank for the vote of confidence

  6. #16
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    You mean all those problems you've solved have just been a coincidance? Yeah, right!
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •