Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I began to upgrade to the newest version of Ubuntu. When I restarted my computer to finalize the installation, GRUB tells me "Partition cannot be mounted" when I attempt to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    61

    Ubuntu Upgrade: "Partition cannot be mounted"


    I began to upgrade to the newest version of Ubuntu. When I restarted my computer to finalize the installation, GRUB tells me "Partition cannot be mounted" when I attempt to select Ubuntu 8.04.
    By the way: When installing, it asked me if I wanted to keep my old menu.lst or use the default one for the new version. I chose the latter. Also, my Windows partition boots properly.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    Hi,

    Can you post us the contents of the file /etc/fstab?
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    61
    /etc/fstab:

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # /dev/sda3
    UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=07D6-0407 /media/sda1 vfat defaults,utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
    # /dev/sda2
    UUID=44A85BA0A85B8F74 /media/sda2 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
    /dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
    /dev/hdb /media/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0

    Thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    OK, can you now post the output of the following command (as root):

    Code:
    fdisk -l
    note, this is the small letter l
    Last edited by bigtomrodney; 06-25-2008 at 07:26 AM. Reason: Typo in command
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    One must use sudo to gain root privileges in Ubuntu.
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    61
    How can I do this without being able to access Ubuntu? I got the fdisk file through my Ubuntu 7.04 live CD (by accessing the Ubuntu 8.04 partition). Will "sudo /disk/etc/fstab -I" work?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Just open Terminal in Ubuntu LiveCD and post the output of sudo fdisk -l command here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    61
    Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250000000000 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30394 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 5 40131 de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 * 6 27206 218492032+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 27207 30394 25607610 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 27207 30394 25607578+ 83 Linux


    P.S. how do I put things in a code box? (I thought it was <code></code>)

  9. #9
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,042
    Your linux partition is sda5 not sda3 you may find fstab needs to be updated. At what point during the boot process do you get the error message?
    Could you post the output of
    Code:
    ls /dev/disk/by-uuid -l
    You should have a code button above the text entry box (its go a # on) you could also use [ CODE] and [ /CODE] with no space between [ and code etc

    Also from the live CD can you post the output of
    Code:
    sudo -s
    mkdir /manmount
    mount /dev/sda5 /manmount
    cat /manmount/boot/grub/menu.lst
    and you don't appear to have a swap partition ... how much RAM do you have in your system?

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    61
    ls /dev/disk/by-uuid -l:
    Code:
    total 0
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 2008-06-25 20:13 032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df -> ../../sda5
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 2008-06-25 20:13 07D6-0407 -> ../../sda1
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 title
    sudo -s
    mkdir /manmount
    mount /dev/sda5 /manmount
    cat /manmount/boot/grub/menu : (after default option stuff)
    Code:
               Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-19-generic
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro quiet splash
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic
    quiet
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-19-generic (recovery mode)
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro single
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-14-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro quiet splash
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic
    quiet
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic (recovery mode)
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-14-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro single
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.20-16-generic
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-16-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro quiet splash
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.20-16-generic
    quiet
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.20-16-generic (recovery mode)
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-16-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro single
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.20-16-generic
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.20-15-generic
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-15-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro quiet splash
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.20-15-generic
    quiet
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.20-15-generic (recovery mode)
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-15-generic root=UUID=032539cc-76fd-4210-a736-4e948f06c2df ro single
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.20-15-generic
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, memtest86+
    root            (hd0,2)
    kernel          /boot/memtest86+.bin
    quiet
    
    ### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
    
    # This is a divider, added to separate the menu items below from the Debian
    # ones.
    title           Other operating systems:
    root
    
    
    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sda2
    title           Windows XP Media Center Edition
    rootnoverify            (hd0,1)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader     +1
    
    title           Dell Thing
    rootnoverify            (hd0,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader     +1
    root root 10 2008-06-25 20:13 14268F80B54FB009 -> ../../sda2

    This error comes up when I try to select Ubuntu 8.04 is GRUB.
    I don't have a swap partition; I have 2 gigs of RAM which I thought was sufficient.

    P.S. Why does it give me so many different kernel versions of Ubuntu? What are they for? Could I comment most of those out?

    P.S.S. What did I just do?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •