Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hello everybody, What should I install on this notebook? I can get it and want to remove Win'98 and go for Linux. It has 32mb RAM (perhaps 64 mb), a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! jaguardriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    42

    HP Omnibook XE2-DB


    Hello everybody,

    What should I install on this notebook? I can get it and want to remove Win'98 and go for Linux. It has 32mb RAM (perhaps 64 mb), a 5 GB harddisk. Colour display, modem, floppy drive and cd-rom.

    Fedora won't do with 32mb (and the 64mb ram isn't sure yet)...
    Should I go for command-line only?? Any suggestions????

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    What about Slackware 9.0 and just strip off whatever you don't need? (Like KDE and all that stuff, and install a lightweight WM like Enlightenment). That's what I'd do anyways.

    Kriss

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    I agree with Kriss. You don't have to run in command line only, but you shouldn't run KDE or Gnome (at least not the full blown versions of them). Slack is probably the best distro for your needs...as gentoo won't install on that little RAM. Just choose a smaller WM, such as E, Fluxbox, kahakai, etc.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by sarumont
    Just choose a smaller WM, such as E, Fluxbox, kahakai, etc.
    Lest we forget my personal favorite, Blackbox.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Just Joined! jaguardriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    42
    Thanks people for your thoughts.
    I'm almost finished with downloading Mandrake 10, so I'll give it a try

    The "Designed for Windows '98" label has already been removed from the notebook, now the rest... heh heh heh

    .... to be continued ....

  6. #6
    Just Joined! jaguardriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    42
    Slackware is installed and now I'm fooling around with the X-managers. And being acustomed to Fedora, this is a whole new ballgame for me.
    First of all, the soundcard/chip isn't recognised, so XMMS reports a conflict. And since I'm not experienced with the command-line structure, the aftermath from the setup is difficult.

    I also tried other distributions. FreeBDS installed fine, but the configuration of the X-server went bad, I got a distorted display. Damn Small Linux did boot, but went black during boot.

    But I've learned some things and one's never too old to learn

    If all goes well, I can get hold of a second 32mb memory chip, thus upgrading it to 64mb. And then I can install (text-mode) FC2. So I'm tempted to go for FC2

    ..... the story goes on .....

  7. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by jaguardriver
    First of all, the soundcard/chip isn't recognised, so XMMS reports a conflict.
    Are you sure that's the problem? I've had cards detect just fine but show a conflict when some other program (for instance KDE) is using the soundsystem with one of its daemons (artsd).
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #8
    Just Joined! jaguardriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Quote Originally Posted by jaguardriver
    First of all, the soundcard/chip isn't recognised, so XMMS reports a conflict.
    Are you sure that's the problem? I've had cards detect just fine but show a conflict when some other program (for instance KDE) is using the soundsystem with one of its daemons (artsd).
    I'm not sure if there is a "deamon" running in the background...
    With FluxBox, BlackBox, Xfce4 it didn't work

    But I heared that there is a 32mb extension waiting for me at home. So I'll give FC2 a try (with Gnome)....

  9. #9
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by jaguardriver
    I'm not sure if there is a "deamon" running in the background...
    With FluxBox, BlackBox, Xfce4 it didn't work
    You can find out what processes and daemons are running by opening up a console and typing:

    Code:
    ps -aux
    You may have to make the console bigger, but you'll be looking for something called "artsd" (the names are on the right column).
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1
    a friend of my has olso an hp omnibook, and the same problem.

    Do you already have tried Xubuntu?


    [edit] sorry, just see its a topic from 2004...

    well, its a finishing touch 0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •