Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am a newbie on linux, though Iīve previously had it installed on my desktop for a short while before giving it to my son. Iīve got a brand new ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Angry [SOLVED] Unable to boot LiveCD or get installations to boot

I am a newbie on linux, though Iīve previously had it installed on my desktop for a short while before giving it to my son.

Iīve got a brand new Asus F7sr laptop with Vista preinstalled. But I want to run linux on it as well. On my desktop there are no problems whatsoever to run LiveCD or install Ubuntu, PCLinux, Fedora but on my laptop nothing will run as LiveCD, it just stops after loading the kernel (ubuntu, gutsy and hardy) , on Fedora 8 I get a scrambled screen and not much happens. PCLinux just gives a black screen at once.

After installation on entire disk (ubuntu hardy, hardy studio) it loads a bit and then I get a black screen with some colored streaks on top and nothing happens. I have also tried to install with Wubi in Vista (current state), same thing happens .
    I have downloaded ati-driver-installer-8-7-x86.x86_64.run. to windows
    I guess the graphics card is the big problem but I donīt know how to remedy this. Is there some way to install this driver when I boot, since I cant get in to graphics mode at all? I have tried with changing BIOS but still nothing works.

Specs:
    Model:Asus F7SR laptop
    X86-based PC
    Intel core2duo T5550@1,83 GHz
    BIOS:AMI, 202
    Memory: 4GB, 3GB dedicated to system, 1GB dedicated to graphics card
    Graphics card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD2400, 256MB

Iīd be thankful for anything that can solve this problem.

Hi and Welcome !

Its a Graphics Card problem only. Have you tried latest version of Ubuntu, Hardy ( 8.04 ) Or Text Mode installation of Fedora ?