Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
ok, i have a computer with windows xp and a 160gb hd, and im trying to dual boot with xubuntu i used the gparted live cd to make an extra ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229

    Question dual boot problems, plz help


    ok, i have a computer with windows xp and a 160gb hd,
    and im trying to dual boot with xubuntu
    i used the gparted live cd to make an extra partition for xubuntu,
    i booted the xubuntu install cd, installed xubuntu on the second partition
    and during the installation i installed grub boot loader to the hard drives mbr

    then i restarted the computer
    i got:
    grub error 17
    so i put in the super grub disk
    i fixed the mbr so it automatically boots into windows,
    but i dont know how to set it up so i can choose from either xp or xubuntu at startup,
    when i try to boot into xubuntu from the grub disk it says it doesnt detect any linux installations

    thx
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    so we can see the disk partition structure.

    Also can you boot Xubuntu using the SuperGrub CD?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229
    i had to use the ubuntu live cd to get this , i cant get to the xubuntu intallation


    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  4. #4
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Did you mean to give Xubuntu only about 2 gigs of hard drive space? Cuz I'm thinking you would need a little more than that, even for a minimal install.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229
    i didnt think it would need much since all my personal files are on the xp partition as well as my games,
    i was just planning on messing and experimenting with the xubuntu partition.
    it still has almost 500mb left unused.
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  6. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I looked into it a little more, and you're right. 2 gigs should be fine for playing around with it. But I was looking at the GRUB Manual, and it would seem that Error 17 means that the filesystem isn't being recognized, therefore can't be mounted.
    Is the Xubuntu CD a Live CD as well, or just an install media? If it's a live CD, can you boot into Xubuntu from there? If not, you may need to reinstall.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229
    its just the install cd,
    ill reinstall it and see if it helps
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  8. #8
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    You should be able to run
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    from the Ubuntu live cd ... anyway see how the re-install goes.

    My thoughts if this does not work is a small boot partition at the beginning of the disk (but I would have expected error 18 for BIOS limit exceeded) ... also could you fire up Xubuntu using SuperGrub ?

    When you boot do you get the grub menu ... or does grub just throw error 17? can you try
    Code:
    find /boot/grub/menu.lst
    from the grub prompt and is anything found?

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229
    ok, here goes:

    i reformatted the second partition and reinstalled xubuntu on it.
    it ejected the cd , i took it out, restarted the computer
    when it started grub just gives
    error 17

    so i restarted it with the grub super disk and selected linux, and it gave me
    error 15.


    the output of sudo fdisk -l was:
    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/hda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hda1               1       19189   154135611    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2   *       19190       19433     1959930   83  Linux
    /dev/hda3           19434       19457      192780   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$
    i even set the linux partitions boot flag to on hoping it would do something.....
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  10. #10
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Try a manual reinstall of grub first of all use ...
    Code:
    sudo -s
    grub
    root (hd0,1)
    setup (hd0)
    quit
    Then try a reboot and see if you get any further ... if you get an error when you type root (hd0,1) post the output here.

    If you get a grub menu but the Linux option does not work then reboot from the live cd and try ...
    Code:
    sudo -s
    mkdir /manmount
    mount /dev/hda2 /manmount
    ls /manmount/boot
    cat /manmount/boot/grub/menu.lst
    and post the output.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •