Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Apologies for jumping straight in with a question, I'm a complete novice and would've even felt out of place introducing myself! I've got a HP G6000 notebook, AMD x2 1.7, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5

    Dual Booting With vista - HP g6000 laptop


    Apologies for jumping straight in with a question, I'm a complete novice and would've even felt out of place introducing myself!

    I've got a HP G6000 notebook, AMD x2 1.7, 2 gig ram, vista home premium. Trying to install PC Linux OS

    I got as far as burning the image on to the disk, and was delighted by how in even ran in live mode. I installed it on the pen drive no problems, but when I tried to boot up, it just sticks in the first loading screen (And I waited about half an hour just to make sure).

    I'm so desperate to have a full working linux on my computer so I can really get into it, and hopefully once and for all not have to rely on *$&%ows..

    Any help would be so appreciated..

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Does it throw any error message? Have you tried pressing Esc key? Try to install it in Text Mode.
    Boot up from PCLinuxOS, open Terminal/Konsole and execute this :
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks very much for the reply.

    Basically when I boot up, it takes me to the grub 1.5 loading screen and it gives me 5 options.

    Linux
    Linux - nonfb
    Linux safe settings
    Windows
    Windows 1

    When I choose Linux, it takes me straight to the loading screen and then doesn't go any further. The progress bar simply doesn't move and it is totally unresponsive.

    When I try the next 2 options - Linux - nonfb, and Linux safe settings - they both take me to the same page and in turn both come completely unresponsive. I've tried pressing every button..

    This is the last few lines that I get trying to boot from Linux nonfb and Linux safe settings. Hope this can shed a bit of light on it..

    VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev sdb1
    Mount: error 22 mounting ext3
    Switching to new root
    ERROR opening /dev/comsole!!!!: 2
    Unmounting old /proc
    Unmounting old /sys
    Switchroot: mount failed: 22
    Initrd finished
    Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempting to kill init!
    Any help would be greatly appreciated..

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    Are you able to boot up using a Live CD? If so, post output of
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5
    I didn't see the 3rd post. Apologies.

    It said that sudo fdisk -1 was an invalid option - So I put in sudo fdisk -l also. Here's the output you need to see (hopefully)..

    [root@localhost root]# sudo fdisk -1
    fdisk: invalid option -- 1

    Usage: fdisk [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK Change partition table
    fdisk -l [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK List partition table(s)
    fdisk -s PARTITION Give partition size(s) in blocks
    fdisk -v Give fdisk version
    Here DISK is something like /dev/hdb or /dev/sda
    and PARTITION is something like /dev/hda7
    -u: give Start and End in sector (instead of cylinder) units
    -b 2048: (for certain MO disks) use 2048-byte sectors
    [root@localhost root]# sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 18703 150231816 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 18704 19457 6056505 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/sdb: 8178 MB, 8178892800 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 994 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 543 4361616 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sdb2 544 994 3622657+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sdb5 544 652 875511 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sdb6 653 994 2747083+ 83 Linux

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Go into a terminal again using the Live CD as root and navigate to the menu.lst file and post the output:

    cat /boot/grub/menu.lst

    We need to see this as it is the menu Grub uses, need to check your entries.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5
    I'm sorry for the delay in replying.

    After many problems I ended up wiping the whole hard drive and managed to install PC Linux Os. I have it up and running now - Although I've got resolution problems.

    Thanks very much for all of the replies, it's really appreciated..

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Although I've got resolution problems.
    Start a new thread and post the output of this
    Code:
    su -
    lspci | grep -i vga
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5
    I ended up downloading other distros to see if that made any difference. I've installed red hat fedora with no problems what so ever, and it seems to support my graphics card..

    It's not quite as sharp as I would like but the internet runs nice and smooth now.

    Thanks for the reply - I appreciate it so much as I really haven't got a clue what I'm doing at the minute..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •