Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, My name is Simon,I live in Melbourne Australia. I am new to Linux and would like to learn how to use Ubuntu, and hopefully install it as a dual ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Smile New to Linux Duel boot Question

Hello, My name is Simon,I live in Melbourne Australia. I am new to Linux and would like to learn how to use Ubuntu, and hopefully install it as a dual boot setup on my new laptop which is running Vista at the moment. I have owned pc's for the past 20 years and I have not had the courage to switch from the security of "yes" you guessed it Windows; to a command line driven OS. When I started out there wasn't the help there is now.

You wonderful people who give up your time and are willing to share your knowledge with those less gifted like myself and most times expect nothing more than a thank you in return. I would feel proud to belong to a group of people willing to do what you do.

What I would like to know is can I install Ubuntu on my laptop as a dual boot setup and what do i have to do. Do i need to make or format a separate partition or will UB do that when I run the installation. I am just a little concerned as it is a new laptop and I am not all that familiar with Vista or Linux. Any help would be greatly appreciated, and any recommendations for command line entry would help too. Thank you and I look forward to a new and interesting journey. Simon Lavallin

Welcome to the forums skooby

You can probably install and use Ubuntu using the command line interface fairly infrequently ... there are one or two things it is likely to come in handy for though.