Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
Originally Posted by jayd512 Hi, Dan! I didn't see this until I got to work so the xorg will have to wait a few hours. But I'm using a basic ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630

    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Hi, Dan!

    I didn't see this until I got to work so the xorg will have to wait a few hours. But I'm using a basic Logitech mouse with a wheel and two buttons.
    Is it an optical? USB?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  2. #22
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Correct on both!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #23
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I have the same mouse. Both under Ubuntu and CRUX, my mouse works satisfactoriy even though both are configured a little differently in /etc/X11/xorg.conf. For CRUX:
    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier     "Mouse1"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "Auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    And for Ubuntu...
    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier      "Configured Mouse"
            Driver          "mouse"
            Option          "CorePointer"
            Option          "Device"        "/dev/input/mice"
            Option          "Protocol"      "ExplorerPS/2"
            Option          "ZAxisMapping"  "4 5"
    EndSection
    Between these two, you should get something going...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  4. #24
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Hooray!

    I got me a working mouse! And the whole OS is fully operational now! It'll be a couple of days until there is a screenshot coming, but for all of you that have been watching this, keep an eye out Monday!

    Big thanks to Dapper Dan, for all the coaching I got both on the boards, as well as PM. Also, Thanks to Devils Casper, cuz I had some fair advise from him as well!

    Both of you get
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #25
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    That's great jayd512! Here's four for you!



    Since Blackbox is the default WM, are you going with that? IceWM? KDE, Gnome or XFCE? None of the above? Or are you going to make us wait and see?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #26
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Well, I've been following the thread in the Coffee Lounge about KDE4 (plus I don't really like KDE all that much), and Gnome just is't very fast on my box. I may play aroung with Blackbox... but the final product will end up as IceWM! It's just so very snappy for me!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #27
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Make sure you have either han's, jason's or romster's collection in /etc/ports and listed in /etc/prt-get.conf. Then it's just:
    Code:
    ports -u
    to update and:
    Code:
    prt-get depinst icewm
    I also have the multi theme package that I got from Ubuntu. Download and install to /usr/share/icewm/themes. You'll have a zillion IceWM themes to choose from.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #28
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Post

    Well, Monday came and went, no screenshot yet. I ran into some problems. It took me a day or two to finally find out what one of my main problems was... I got a little spoiled by the ease of use in Fedora! I didn't realize that the main reason why I couldn't do anything as a regular user was because I didn't give myself any permissions when I did useradd. So I got THAT sorted out finally (chown is a good thing to know!), but I can't seem to make IceWM my default WM so that I can get down to tinkering with it.

    Mainly, I can't seem to locate the correct directory to edit the .xsessions file. Any clues?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  9. #29
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Hi Jay. Create a file in your home directory called .xsession. In it put:
    Code:
    icewm-session
    Save and close. Exit out of X windows and log back in.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  10. #30
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Hello again!

    Dan, I was wondering if you could do me a favor and post an example of your /etc/ports directory. I think I'm hot on the trail of a break-through here, but when I finally got around to downloading all the ports that you suggested, and ran
    Code:
    ports -u
    I get an error saying that I can't open <port> for writing. On all of them!

    *EDIT*

    Never mind... I got it. I goofed and put my ports into /usr/ports instead of /etc/ports! Oops! Watching my available packages pile up even as I type!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •