Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux (and to these boards) so please don't mind my n00bishness. I recently installed RedHat 9, but am finding it very difficult to install additional components. It ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing 'Development Tools' - RedHat 9

I'm new to Linux (and to these boards) so please don't mind my n00bishness.

I recently installed RedHat 9, but am finding it very difficult to install additional components.
    It was recommended to me that I stay away from RPMs, and grab tar.gz source distros.
    Each time I try to run ./configure I get an error that $PATH does not have a C Compiler.

So, I attempted to install Development Tools from within the Add/Remove Applications tool.
    That fails, and says I need the following packages:
    krb5-libs = 1.2.7-10 (Required By krb5-devel)
    openssl = 0.9.7a-2 (Required By openssl-devel)

So, I scoured the net and found both of those (in RPM format only). I was able to install the krb5 rpm, to my knowledge, but the openssl RPM said I already had a newer version. After that, I still have the same problems installing development tools.

Sorry if that's long winded. Could anyone help me?
    This is pretty much my first time using Linux. Previous attempts were all futile.

Linux User
    you can use --nodeps and --force when installing programms with RPM

Linux Guru
    Indeed, these depency things with RPMs aren't really great, but they can often be resolved. If you run into circular depencies, eg. when one packet requires another, but that one requires the first, specify both in the same call to rpm, and it will see that the depencies will be resolved once all packets are installed.

However, that compilation problem you had is pretty easily solved: You simply don't have a C compiler installed. Install gcc from your installation CDs and you'll be alright.

Linux Enthusiast