Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi everyone! I'm hoping this is a decent place to start this thread... My problem is a mixture of an installation and low-level software problem. I just did a fresh ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable.

Hi everyone! I'm hoping this is a decent place to start this thread... My problem is a mixture of an installation and low-level software problem.

I just did a fresh install of Fedora Core 9 and I'm fairly new to linux. I've played around a bit before but it's been a while, and here's my problem. I have two hard drives:

1. 74GB WD SATA with a partition for Win XP (sda1), FC9 swap (sda2) and FC9 (sda3).
    2. 80GB Maxtor IDE strictly for storage (hda).

I can boot into Win XP and FC9 fine. However, when I booted into Win XP, I realized I could no longer access my 2nd drive. It tells me:
    D:\ is not accessible.

The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable.

I did a lot of Googling to no avail. I unplugged the 2nd HD to avoid any data loss until I could figure it out. As I went to boot back into Win XP, I got the following:
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1
    No drive found...

At that instant it dawned on me I installed the boot loader on drive 2 instead of drive 1! This leaves me where I am now. I'm sure the NTFS file system is still intact and all my files are there. However, I'm not sure how to remedy this. I'd like the boot loader back on drive 1 and drive 2 accessible again. Any help would be appreciated and thank you!

Boot up Fedora and execute this
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    Post output here. Post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.conf file too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!