Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to Linux; please excuse me if this is a very stupid question. I got a set of (2) RedHat 8 CDs in the back of a "Dummies" book; ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Failed to locate CD-ROM device; boot failed

I'm new to Linux; please excuse me if this is a very stupid question.

I got a set of (2) RedHat 8 CDs in the back of a "Dummies" book; I'm trying to use them to install Linux on an older computer (P166).

Trying to boot from CD1, I get the following error:
    Code:
    ISOLINUX 1.75 2002-06-14 isolinux: Loading spec packet failed, trying to wing it
    isolinux: Failed to locate CD-ROM device; boot failed.
    I tried flashing the BIOS with a newer version; still no go.

I also tried setting PnP in the BIOS to "other" or "none" instead of "Windows 98;" I get the same results with all settings.

My next thought was to boot from a floppy. Strangely, CD1 contains neither the dosutils directory nor the images directory; neither does CD2. Only two *.img files exist on CD1:
    Code:
    /RedHat/base/stage2.img
    /isolinux/initrd.img
    I tried downloading boot.img from the RedHat 8.0 FTP. Lacking rawrite, I used tomsrtbt (a 1-floppy distro) and dd to make the disk. It boots, but I get an error towards the beginning of the installer saying the version I booted from doesn't match what's on the CD.

Both tomsrtbt and Win98FE can mount the drive and read without problems.

I'm using an ATAPI TORiSAN CD-ROM CDR_S18. Windows tells me it's on the Secondary IDE controller of an Intel 82371SB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller.

I would greatly appreciate any help!

Just Joined!

A little more info...

In my first post, I said "I get an error towards the beginning of the installer saying the version I booted from doesn't match what's on the CD." Here's the actual text of that message:
    Code: