Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i have tried a couple distros, namely ubuntu 8.something for 64 bit amd and intel ( i'm on a dell 1525 with core2 duo proccessor ) and the latest opensuse, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

need help with making iso disc

i have tried a couple distros, namely ubuntu 8.something for 64 bit amd and intel ( i'm on a dell 1525 with core2 duo proccessor ) and the latest opensuse, on the opensuse i used the bit torrent method and picked all the correct options after referring to their tutorial...

i've used winmd5sum on the iso and double checked that the sums match...btw this is my first attempt at migrating away from windows...i've used both infraburner and isorecorder to burn these as images without making the disc bootable... my hard drive is all unallocated space i deleted all dos partitions using fdisk and... that's about where i am

note: i have tried to use cfdisk and the like via floppy .. and i'm down to 6 more cdr's so ... that .tar file for fdisk i can't seem to get to run.. i had vista pre installed on this comp when i bought it.. though not by choice....

i think i'm still burning the distros to cdr improperly though i can't figure out what i'm doing wrong ... please help my migrate away from windows .. ty

Do you still have Vista working and your downloaded iso's that you want to burn?
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

If you put the cd in a computer that has an OS loaded(windows, linux whatever) what contents are in the cd? Have you by any chance copied the iso file in the cd, so it is not bootable? In NERO & K3b you must select burn image or something like that.