Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm having problems installing any distrobution of linux. I'm a complete linux newbie and i've tried Ubuntu 32-bit, 64-bit, Debian x386 and Fedora 9 x86-64. I've tried various means of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

install problems - no distro seems to work

I'm having problems installing any distrobution of linux. I'm a complete linux newbie and i've tried Ubuntu 32-bit, 64-bit, Debian x386 and Fedora 9 x86-64. I've tried various means of installing - i.e. cd's, install within windows (ubuntu) and debian's win32 loader.

Before i give an outline of the problem, here are the specs (according to SiSoft Sandra):

PC Laptop
    CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2370 @ 1.73ghz
    Hard drive: Toshiba MK1652GSX 160gb (SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8mb cache)
    Hard drive configuration: 1st partition (30gb, NTFS), 2nd partition (30gb, NTFS), 3rd partition (90gb, NTFS, Windows XP Pro 32-bit installed).
    Video adapter: SiS Mirage 3 Graphics (128mb, AGP 3.00, PS2.0, VS2.0)
    RAM: 2gb DDR2
    Mainboard: OEM Notebook
    System BIOS: OEM 1.12

I have attempted to install linux to one of the 30mb partitions in order to have it alongside windows on the 90mb partition. As above i've tried numerous distrobutions and install methods. The installation process hangs shortly after I confirm that I want to install the default version of the distrobution. I have read somewhere that this may be a kernel problem, but i'm not familiar at all with that.

If anyone can help I'd appreciate it. If the solution involves reformatting the disk into a single partition and deleting windows I don't really mind.

BlackCoffeeKing, welcome and Howdy. I am guessing you menan 90gig partition and 30 gig partition instead of 30mb and 90mb. I am also guessing that you tried installing using WUBI with no success. I am just guessing though.