Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I've been trying for some time to install Ubuntu 8.10 I got through the installation process and was promted to restart so I could boot from the HD. The PC ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! M_Mungo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    51

    Ubuntu Install - Blank Tan Screen


    I've been trying for some time to install Ubuntu 8.10
    I got through the installation process and was promted to restart so I could boot from the HD. The PC boots, "loading, please wait...", a tan screen appears with the mouse cursor and - nothing else happens. Commands do not work (ctrl + alt + F1) etc...

    I Have a Dell
    P4 processor 1.8 ghz
    1G RAM
    80 GB HD (with nothing on it other than the install).
    AGP integrated video (no card).

    I would really like to begin using Ubuntu and learn more about Linux systems - Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Do you know by chance what kind of integrated video device you have? The rest of your components sound pretty standard, so that's my guess as to what is giving you grief.

    You might consider trying an install using the "Alternate Install" disc. It's available here. That might at least get you with a fully installed system that we could then troubleshoot.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined! M_Mungo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    51
    Thanks. I'll try that out.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    51
    I assume that 8.10 worked as a live-cd. If an alternate disk doesn't install you
    might try your system with Knoppix using the cheatcodes to see what works.
    Cheat Codes - Knoppix Documentation Wiki
    Would this also help?
    Ubuntu Linux Resources
    Have patience

  5. #5
    Just Joined! M_Mungo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    51
    Good News! - This reply is coming from my Ubuntu install. I had to select Safe graphics mode. New questions:

    1) Can I adjust the resolution?
    2) Can you suggest anti-virus (is there a good free source)?

    Thanks to all who have gotten me this far.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by M_Mungo View Post
    Good News! - This reply is coming from my Ubuntu install. I had to select Safe graphics mode. New questions:

    1) Can I adjust the resolution?
    On the LiveCD? I'm not sure. Or are you talking about your finished installation? If so, there should be an option to adjust your resolution either in your System menu or by right clicking on the desktop.

    2) Can you suggest anti-virus (is there a good free source)?
    Antivirus isn't really needed for Linux at this point, but if you're just wanting to err on the side of caution, there's a few options (all free):

    ClamAV
    AVG Antivirus for Linux
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #7
    Just Joined! M_Mungo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    51
    Thanks - AVG is up and running. I finally ended up installing the desktop version of Ubuntu 8.10 but, I had to install it using "safe graphics" mode. I believe this may be because I do not have a video card. I found a place to change resolution but, no options other than ther 640 x 480 were available. Hopefully, when I purchase a card, I'll be able to adjust the resolution somehow. Until then.... [SOLVED].

    Thanks again

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    I think we can set higher resolution too. Execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    sudo lspci | grep -i vga
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined! M_Mungo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    51
    I tried that out. The terminal screen responded but, no changes. Could this be because I installed with safe graphics mode. I hope it can be changed even if I need to purchase a video card. Right now, I can view only about 1/4 of a full page on my monitor. Everything is very big. I have to keep moving windows around to view the complete page. Very frustrating.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    The terminal screen responded but, no changes.
    Those command won't change anything. You have to post the output of those commands so that we could help you.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •