Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm very much a newbie to the whole Linux thing. I'm studying IT at Uni. This is my second semester. One of the components in my networking subject is using ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trying to get NB1200 USB ADSL modem to work in Redhat 8

I'm very much a newbie to the whole Linux thing. I'm studying IT at Uni. This is my second semester. One of the components in my networking subject is using Linux.

To help me learn it better I have reformatted my computer to make it a dual boot Windows XP Pro/Redhat 8.0 machine. The installation went fine for both OS's and both load beautifully!!!! The only problem I have is getting connected to the internet under Linux.

Prior to deciding to install Linux on my machine, I signed up for an ADSL internet connection, and bought a Netcomm NB1200 USB ADSL modem. I have now read that setting-up a broadband connection with an ethernet ADSL modem is easy, whereas the same cannot be said for USB. New drivers are required which I assume aren't available. I've done a quick search on the net and have come up with nothing yet.

Being a student I don't have much money to throw around at all, so after everything I've said above, I'm interested to know if anyone knows of either a driver available to get me connected, or if there is a known cheap alternative.

I can still connect to the internet through XP, but I would also like to be able to do the same in Linux.

If anyone can lend any assistance, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Matthew

Linux Guru
    Well, there are only drivers for a few USB ADSL modems for Linux. Let's face it, most hardware manufacturers only make drivers for Windows.