Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
i am trying to work out how to set up a program i have downloaded following the post in the trutorial section but whenever i get to the mkdir/home/user/src command ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4

    problems with the mkdir command


    i am trying to work out how to set up a program i have downloaded following the post in the trutorial section but whenever i get to the mkdir/home/user/src command it gust sends me toa google search.
    i know i must be making some sort of stupid mistake but for the life of me i cant work out what, can anybody help me please?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    mkdir/home/user/src
    The above command would create a directory in the /home/user/ directory named "src", is that what you intend? You need a space after mkdir, before /home, unless that's just a typo?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    i have also tryed that, tryed puting a / before the mkdir
    i have tryed all sorts of things but i just cant work it out

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums!

    You are inserting the actual user_name into the correct place within the command, correct?

    Code:
    mkdir /home/user_name/src
    Also, be sure that you are running the command from within a terminal.
    oz

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    Welcome to the forums!

    You are inserting the actual user_name into the correct place within the command, correct?

    Code:
    mkdir /home/user_name/src
    Also, be sure that you are running the command from within a terminal.
    this will sound stupid but what is a terminal?

  7. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by s7000ey View Post
    this will sound stupid but what is a terminal?
    I just wasn't sure how you were going about trying to run the command, hence my suggestion regarding the terminal.

    In Gnome, it's called Terminal.
    In KDE, it's called Konsole.

    You should be able to find it in your applications menu, or perhaps there is an icon for starting it on the panel of your desktop environment.

    Otherwise, you can also run commands from a virtual console, outside of the graphical environment.
    oz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •