Dear freinds:

I have a hard problem with GRUB and I donīt know how I can resolving it.

I'm doing a master dvd to mastering a lot of servers-computers (about 2000) ditributed.
The architecture is like this one:

Fujitsu-Siemens Primergy S3/S4/S5. They have a OS RedHat Enterprise 5.3. three partitions on the HD (hard-RAID-1). The partition 1 it's for the /boot, the partition 2 is for LVM (/root, /swap and others, all in LVM) and the partition 3 is a security partition to allow me to have a maintenance system on line.

For this job I use the SystemRescueCD 1.1.5 release with the parted, partimage, and others tools. The third partition has a SystemRescueCd installed as it's described in link:

Sysresccd-manual-en Easy install SystemRescueCd on harddisk - SystemRescueCd

To install the grub I have used the easy way:

install-grub /dev/sda

And all was ok, but my problem come now.

My company has a lot of IBM servers xSeries-205 (more than 1000 although they will be exchange on few time). I have to expand the dvd-master in order to can update they at Red Hat Enterprise-5.3.

The architecture is:

IBM xSeries 205
Intel Pentium 4 2.66 Ghz.
1 Gb RAM
40 Gb Hard Disk in two disk on mirror with this car: RAID bus controller: Silicom Image, Inc, PCI0680 Ultra ATA-133 Host Controller (rev 02)

Yeah, I know those servers are a lot of ancients but while the company change they, I have to install the master.

To make the master I'm using the SystemRescueCd-1.1.5., like I told before and I bootload de RescueCd with this parameters:

altker32 setkmap=es dodmraid dolvm2 rootpass=XXXXXXXX eth0=172.20.128.10/17 gateway=172.20.128.2.

Thanks to dmraid option I can see the device:

/dev/dm-0 -> /dev/mapper/lsi_bhgeiicjeea

I also can part it, making the logical volumes and use the partimage to write the file system. The real problem is when I install the grub. To do it I write on my script these sentences:

mount /dev/mapper/lsi_bhgeiicjeea /boot