Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
One of my machines (laptop; HPdv9000, 2 internal disks), has Vista, PCLOS, Ubuntu, FC10, and XPPro. Vista is on hd0, XPPro is on hd1. How do I 'conceal' XPPro from ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    298

    Hide Windows from Windows?


    One of my machines (laptop; HPdv9000, 2 internal disks), has Vista, PCLOS, Ubuntu, FC10, and XPPro.

    Vista is on hd0, XPPro is on hd1. How do I 'conceal' XPPro from Vista? I tried uninstalling the second disk in Device Manager while Vista is booted, but it re-installs the second disk at re-boot. (XPPro is a hacked edition), and I've heard that Vista signs digitally all hardware that it logs onto.

    Save the morality lesson please, I lost a laptop in an accident, and MS won't authorize re-installing it on another machine. They got their money. So I'm sort of 'underground', with a VLKbootleg edition (and a permanent disability, but that's fine too; the drinkin' driver who got me was killed).

    Is this a case for a VM install? Slipstream install? Or is there a configuration setting in Vista that I've missed?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Three options :

    1. Install XP Pro in Qemu. Its available in most of Linux distros including Ubuntu.

    2. Disable second disk in BIOS.

    3. Use GRUB to boot Vista and hide XP Partition(s) using hide command of GRUB.

    I prefer 3rd option because its really easy to hide/unhide partitions but GRUB must be used to boot OS.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    298
    I DO load Vista through GRUB. So.....

    With this:
    [CODE]
    [chuckfc8@localhost ~]$ su -
    Password:
    [root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x4b36bdea

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 1594 12803773+ 7 HPFS/NTFS <--- XPPro
    /dev/sda2 3121 10769 61440592+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 10770 14593 30716280 5 Extended
    /dev/sda4 1595 3120 12257595 83 Linux
    /dev/sda5 10770 11788 8185086 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 14122 14593 3791308+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda7 11789 12297 4088511 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda8 12298 14121 14651248+ 83 Linux

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    Disk /dev/sdb: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x393115b2

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 7988 64159712+ 7 HPFS/NTFS <---Vista
    /dev/sdb2 13526 14593 8571904 7 HPFS/NTFS <---HP recovery
    /dev/sdb3 7989 10541 20506972+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sdb5 7989 10541 20506941 83 Linux

    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    [root@localhost ~]# [/CODE
    Vista entry will look like this?
    title Windows Vista
    hide (hd0,0)
    root (hd1,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Code:
    title Windows Vista
    hide (hd0,0)
    root (hd1,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    Yes. Thats a correct code. It will hide first partition of other disk.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •