Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Title says it all - Live disk will boot up live in 2 of my machines, but not in another. Ideas?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    298

    Live CD will load in 2 machines, but not the one I want to install in...


    Title says it all - Live disk will boot up live in 2 of my machines, but not in another.

    Ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,094
    Well, I've had trouble when I use a cdrw disk that works in one laoptop but not another. Found that when I burn it to cdr it works just fine. Also have had trouble sometimes where it was the cdroms fault, because when I changed out drive for another it would then work.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  3. #3
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by rokytnji View Post
    Well, I've had trouble when I use a cdrw disk that works in one laoptop but not another. Found that when I burn it to cdr it works just fine. Also have had trouble sometimes where it was the cdroms fault, because when I changed out drive for another it would then work.
    I agree, try changing out the CDROM with a known working one.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    298
    It's possible it's a bad ODD drive, BUT, it is the one that I used to burn the LiveCD itself just an hour ago.


  5. #5
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I myself have a CDR that will write and erase, but it will not boot the system...it's just basically used for burning only.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Does LiveCD throw any error message at startup? Is it First Boot Device in BIOS?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Does LiveCD throw any error message at startup? Is it First Boot Device in BIOS?
    It boots up fine in 2 machines, no error messages.

    CD/DVD drive is first boot device in the machine that it does not boot up the LiveCD.

    EDIT:
    On one machine that boots it up, I installed to a USB hard drive.

    Then I plugged the USB hard drive into 2 other machines, to see if it would boot on a USB address (since the computer that installed is doesn't boot USB). On both of the other machines, boot sequence set for USB, it gave MBR error message.

    Ideas?

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    You know, CDROMs are one of the easiest PC parts to replace, usually it just involves removing the case cover, 2 screws and 2 plugs.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    You know, CDROMs are one of the easiest PC parts to replace, usually it just involves removing the case cover, 2 screws and 2 plugs.
    Looks like the interface is different for the ODD's in my Dell laptop and HP laptop.

  10. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    298
    So I swapped the ODD's, and I could not get connected still.

    Any ideas?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •