Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
What about with 256Mb, I'm trying to install Kubuntu 8.10 but it keeps having a kernel panic due to not syncing properly. Ubuntu says 256 is OK, but I just ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    256mb


    What about with 256Mb,

    I'm trying to install Kubuntu 8.10 but it keeps having a kernel panic due to not syncing properly.

    Ubuntu says 256 is OK, but I just want an OK distro with Kde. Any pointers?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums!

    KDE4 is a pretty heavy desktop environment, and all versions of it thus far are rather bug ridden. According to this Ubuntu documentation page, a minimum of 384 MB of RAM are recommended. I'd recommend a little more than that if you really want to go with KDE4.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,102
    Try out NimbleX 2008. It runs fine on my 256mb laptop.

    NimbleX - The New Wave of Linux ! - Download

    And howdy and Welcome to LFO.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  4. #4
    Just Joined! pmcoleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    30
    I have used the alternate install cd to work around problems such as this. While it works, the GUI will always be somewhat slow unless you install more RAM.

    A Live CD installation will require more RAM for the install than what may be neccessary to use the distro. I agree that KDE is a bit heavy although it is my preference. On some of my 13 Linux boxes using Gnome is the best option because of the lower resources available. The machine that I am typing this post on has 512MB RAM with KDE 3.x and it almost always used about 350 to 380MB (give or take)

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Thanks

    Thanks for all your contribs. However I have just found out this little old laptop has just 32Mb RAM! Looks like I have to shelve KDE. Never mind, it wasn't for me, and the person that would use it, would probably not appreciate a more complex Linux option.

  6. #6
    Just Joined! ManishSinha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Manipal,India
    Posts
    28
    Or try Xfce... Use Xubuntu

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •