Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i have a new dell 1100 inspiron laptop with a intel 82845(G) display device. in installed red hat 9 and all i get is a 800* 600 resolution which doesnt ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4

    redhat 9 resolution problems


    i have a new dell 1100 inspiron laptop with a intel 82845(G) display device. in installed red hat 9 and all i get is a 800* 600 resolution which doesnt fill the screen....i get a max of 1024*768 ....can anyone help? :o

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Open your /etc/X11/XF86Config, and look for your "Screen" section. In it, you will find a "Display" subsection, in which you will find a line beginning with "Modes". Add "1024x768" to the beginning of the other modes. For example if your Modes line looks like this:
    Code:
    Modes "800x600" "640x480"
    Change it to this:
    Code:
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4

    hmm...tried that

    thanx for replying..infact i tried that eariler.

    i added "1024x768" and saved the file...however it didnt work..when i restarted the system the file got modified and it has no "1024x768" which
    i added and the resolution is still the one i got now(800x600)..

    any more suggestions?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    How do you mean? Did you try it without rebooting? What do you mean that "the file got modified"? Was it just reset to what it was before you modified it?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4
    yeah i rebooted and the file got reset to what it was before it was modified...

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Are you sure that it was successfully saved? You will need to be root to do that.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4

    linux

    thanx for your patient replies

    yes i managed to change it to what you said ..now i have " 1024x768" in my config file...
    but still i dont get the full screen when i use linux...

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Check your /var/log/XFree86.0.log, and see what you can find about 1024x768 in there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •