Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have recently installed Linux in my office machine. this system is part of our windows LAN and all our other machines have win 2k or win 98. servers also ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

linux and windows interconnectivity

I have recently installed Linux in my office machine. this system is part of our windows LAN and all our other machines have win 2k or win 98. servers also run on windows 2000 server. So mine is the only machine runs on linux. I am new to linux. So i want to know the procedure to place my system in windows network. I need to access all computers present in our domain and at the same time other users must also be able to access my system thru network neighbourhood. Please send me the procedure to be done to achieve the above mentioned goal.

Linux Engineer
    Make sure you didnt install any DNS or dhcp-server that can cause problem in you microsoft network environment. Then use SAMBA to make the other NT-boxes access you linux box and reverse. If you look at my page http://www.utterberg.com under howtos you have a samba howto you can look at. Otherwise look at sambas homepage for more information on the software.

You can check if you have the valid packages installed with the command

Code:
    rpm -qa | grep samba
    There should exists atleast 3 packages.

http://www.samba.org

Regards

Regards

Andutt

Linux Engineer
    andutt,

I have one windows 2000 machine and linux/windows 2000 (dual boot) machine all networked by a linksys router. Can I still use Samba to interconnect these pcs? I know I don't have a DNS server and the router does not host DHCP (I like static ip addressing).
    After reading your howto, I have a question.
    Code:
    If you are instllaing linux from scratch then include windowsfileserver in the installprocedure to include this packages default.