Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I'm a newbie to linux - had a play around with Ubuntu before but i've settles for Mint as my final choice for my new laptop. Hardware configuration is 1 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Not sure what to do!

I'm a newbie to linux - had a play around with Ubuntu before but i've settles for Mint as my final choice for my new laptop.

Hardware configuration is 1 disk split into two partitions C and D (both more or less 100GB) - C is already full with windows and my games and D is empty.

I get to the partition section where i see this, and i'm not sure what to do - i want to install it on the D drive (which is SDA3 ntfs at the moment) but i don't know which options to select. I want linux to be able to take 10-20 gb of the disk but leave the rest accessible in windows if i need it.

Screenshot:

i13.photobucket.com/albums/a259/everyonedoesit/mint.jpg

What do imake the "Use as", and do i make the size what i want for linux? or would that resize the whole partition to 10gb. Confuzzled. Thanks guys

(P.S that 15gb of unusable space is what i removed from vista in Disk Management like i read on a guide to do first, but that didn't work. If i can get it installed there, even better. If not i can reallocate to windows)

Linux User
    I would try to use that space. If gparted says it can't use it, delete that partition, then it should become usable again.My mistake-it is a 5th partition, which is why it is marked unusable. I'll have to think a while on this.
    Registered Linux User #420832

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Hal343 View Post
    I would try to use that space. If gparted says it can't use it, delete that partition, then it should become usable again.
    I can't delete it from inside the installation partition manager - delete is grayed out. Delete it from Vista then try again?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close