Find the answer to your Linux question:
It appears if I wipe out Linux, it takes the grub bootloader with it and I get that error 22 message. Is there a way I can prevent the grub ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing grub on a boot partition

It appears if I wipe out Linux, it takes the grub bootloader with it and I get that error 22 message. Is there a way I can prevent the grub bootloader from being wiped out whenever I format and remove a linux OS? I was thinking of having the grub bootloader on a tiny dedicated boot partition that holds all this boot information to all the wonderful Linux distros. Just not sure how to do it since I'm new to this.

You can't use same /boot partition for multiple distros. X_X
    In most of the cases, if you try to force install on /boot partition without formatting.
    Important files will be overwritten.

To avoid this, You can install the grub on the /boot or / partition itself, instead of MBR. and install the last distro having grub on MBR, which will keep all the entries for other installations.
    Never make any misteaks.

Read my Blog at --> Penguin Inside Subscribe Feed

Just Joined!
    and if this "last" distro (seeing how it now carries the latest MBR) was removed I would get an error 22 on startup? I'm trying to avoid that error 22 message.

However you need a active and working MBR on a Disk.
    as the BIOS can't boot from specifc partition, but only from the MBR of disk.
    Never make any misteaks.

Read my Blog at --> Penguin Inside Subscribe Feed

Linux User

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Linux_user123 View Post