Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi - I am new to Linux and I am trying to install puppy on an old IBM thinkpad 600X (10gb hd, 196mb ram) When installing puppy from a cd, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

When installing puppy, it gets stuck after "Searching for Puppy files..."

Hi - I am new to Linux and I am trying to install puppy on an old IBM thinkpad 600X (10gb hd, 196mb ram)

When installing puppy from a cd, it loads up and does the kernel stuff before "Searching for Puppy files in computer disk drives" - this takes about 10 minutes before saying "pup_421.sfs not found. Dropping out to initial ramdisk console" then it goes to "/bin/sh can't access tty; jon control turned off"

then it stays like that and doesn't continue

Please help! Is there anything I can do / anything I am doing wrong?

Thanks

Linux Newbie
    you know, for all the talk about how "simple" puppy is to install, I found it harder than any other distro....or more steps involved any how, you have to copy some of the puppy files manually onto the partition...there is detailed instructions on the puppy linux forums, I'm not techy enough to explain it, but I was able to do it eventually.

the last time i used puppy linux on my pc it booted from the cd and didn't install on the pc. The HDD are mounted and any data transaction are stored on the HDD if wanted , so next time you start puppy linux it searches for the old fie ".sf" to find what all it did last time. SO I wonder whether you have installed it or u r simply booting from the CD.
    Only if I could understand the man pages
    Registered Linux user #492640

Just Joined!
    I am trying to run it in RAM, ignoring previous sessions, but it still tries to looks for previous files, and then it gets stuck - is there a way to avoid this or get past it?