Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, I'm new to Linux and just signed into this forum, so not sure if this is exactly the right forum to post under, but here goes :P I've wanted ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy UNetBootin Ubuntu 9.0.4 Saving information between sessions?

Hey, I'm new to Linux and just signed into this forum, so not sure if this is exactly the right forum to post under, but here goes :P

I've wanted to try Linux for a while, so downloaded the .iso for ubuntu, but couldn't find my blank CDs, so after a bit of googling discovered UNetBootin and installed it to my 4GB USB stick (formatted completly before hand). When I went into BIOS and raised prioroty etc, it worked perfectly! However, after shutting down and coming back to my computer a bit later, all my stuff had gone and things like internet, applications (WINE), and users had disapeared.

My current/main OS is Windows Vista (home premium)

What I want to know is, how can I save stuff like apps and user accounts between sessions using UNetBootin? I did a bit of searching around, but couldn't find anything. Any help please?

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Unetbootin creates a liveUSB drive, much like a liveCD/DVD disc. It looks to the OS like a CD and is thus mounted read-only. Once it boots, the OS and file system are in ramdisk, so changes aren't written back to the drive. I'm looking into the same problem myself and so far I think the best option is to have another USB stick and actually install the OS there. Then you should be able to boot from the thumb drive and it will look to the system as a regular Linux system disc, hence modifiable.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

kyt
    Just Joined!