Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Absolutely,,, thats how you learn my friend, it's a good thing to learn too....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864

    Absolutely,,, thats how you learn my friend, it's a good thing to learn too.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    I get this:

    arch@arch-desktop:~$ cp /boot/grub/menu.lst /boot/grub/menu.lst.old
    cp: cannot create regular file `/boot/grub/menu.lst.old': Permission denied
    arch@arch-desktop:~$ sudo cp /boot/grub/menu.lst /boot/grub/menu.lst.old
    arch@arch-desktop:~$

    Does this mean it's copied? I couldn't find it when I searched for it

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    I found it when I searched /boot

  4. #14
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by archp2008 View Post
    I found it when I searched /boot
    Code:
    sudo cp /boot/grub/menu.lst /boot/grub/menu.lst.old
    This should have done it, I always forget to add sudo, sorry about that.
    You could try booting up and just copy paste one at a time into your current menu.lst
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    I replaced my menu.lst with the menu you gave me. The only thing that worked was Ubuntu. I tried replacing menu.lst with menu.lst.old using sudo commands posted on the Web but can't get my old menu back. Please help. Is my old menu.lst listed on this thread?

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    72
    Yes, I got it back by simply typing in the listing on this thread. I'm quite happy with it the way it is. I'll just comment out the Mint entry.

  7. #17
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I'm sure if you keep fiddling with it, you'll get it to work.......you could mount the Mint partition and copy the mint /boot/grub/menu.lst to merge with the one you currently use.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •