Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
For starters, I do not have the disc yet, but upon going into Ubuntu, I was advised to try Jaunty Jackelope.... I am a complete newbie when it comes to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Linux install on Old IMac

For starters, I do not have the disc yet, but upon going into Ubuntu, I was advised to try Jaunty Jackelope.... I am a complete newbie when it comes to linux, not a clue! I can handle my own on a computer, if pointed in the right direction.

My first and foremost question is in regards to the IMac. Although I tried several apple sites, I still do not have an answer and I can not get past the login screen.

Here's what I have, hopefully someone can help me out here.... Was given an IMac with no orig install cd's, by going off of wiki, and pictures, it appears to be a 98 G3.

As I am unable to get past the initial login screen upon it's startup, a friend suggested resetting the admin user password, so he had me do a single-user boot thingy, but nothing.... then he stated that it had to do with a 'firmware' thing, so he had me do another boot thing that got me into it, something with reset-all, hit enter, she rebooted/restarted, and brought me right back to the same startup login screen.... Now he tells me, oops, guess I am not that familiar with Macs... so wanted to dis-member him and beat him with his own arm!

Helpppppppppppppppppppp!

First off, do I need the orig install cd's from the Mac to turn this machine into one running linux?

Second, is there anyway to get past this login screen without those stupid orig cd's?

Sorry, semi-tensed about this, my patience level is at about 2.5 right now....

Hello and Welcome!

First... no. You don't need the Mac discs to install Linux
    Second, on a Mac the only way to reset the Admin password if you don't know what it is is with the installation disc.