Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I am a complete newbie to Linux, and am just about to take that first step. I have absolutely no knowledge of Linux commands and the like. Currently, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie installation help (Win XP + Red Hat 9)

Hello all,

I am a complete newbie to Linux, and am just about to take that first step. I have absolutely no knowledge of Linux commands and the like. Currently, I have Windows XP installed in my first hard disk. I tried installing Red Hat Linux 9 to my second hard disk, but midway through the process, I felt it was safer to consult first before pushing through.

The Red Hat installation is smooth, just up to the point where the installation asks me what kind of boot manager I would like to install (GRUB or LILO). I originally wanted to use LILO, because my 3rd party boot manager, Boot-US said so (so it could detect the Linux bootable partition), but apparently most people say otherwise. My concern is that Linux wants to write the boot manager into my first hard disk's mbr (the one with Windows XP). However, most of the dual-booting examples I've seen online are Linux + another flavor of Windows that does not use the NTFS file system, so I backed off. If I do pursue the installation, will the boot manager be able to detect, and properly boot Windows XP in hda?

Second, I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could recommend which kinds of partitions I should set up in the second HD. Is it advisable to create more than the required /, /boot, and swap? (like RAID and the abbreviated Logical thingamajig?) I plan to use one partition on this Linux HD for Windows 98 just to get some abandonware stuff running, so I guess I've reached the 4 partition limit.