Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I'm new on here, and I'm in need of some help. I've been searching Google for a while now with no luck, and I haven't found a similar ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Multiple OSs with GAG Bootloader

Hi everyone,

I'm new on here, and I'm in need of some help. I've been searching Google for a while now with no luck, and I haven't found a similar enough thread on here to help me out. Before we go on, I should probably point out that I'm a Linux newbie -- as many others, way too used to Microsoft's approach.

I've just purchased a new 500 GB HDD to install 6 operating systems on:

1) Scientific Linux
    2) Kubuntu
    3) Linux Mint
    4) Win XP
    5) Another Win XP
    6) Windows 7 RC1

I currently have two Windows installations on another HDD, which are multibooted with Partition Magic (which doesn't work with Linux -- a death sentence for any developer, IMHO).

I want to create a multiboot system, and I was thinking of using GAG bootloader for it. But my question is the following: in what order do I actually do these things?

I imagine the first step is to format and partition the new HDD -- the Linuxes to ext3 and the Windows to NTFS. I was thinking of using gparted on the System Rescue CD for that.

That should be simple enough, but where to from there? How do I access the right partition to install the required OS on it? What are the issues with GRUB or LILO? Do I need either at all when I have GAG?

I'm somewhat worried about this first-time thing, in case something goes awry and I lose my current data, which is why I want to have a clear idea of what I'm doing and what to expect.

I'll get the hang of Linux and all of this; I just need to get started! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,
    Raskolnikov

Linux User
    First things to remember.