Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, first of all i just wanna let you know im pretty new to linux, although ive had a bash at fedora 7 before my computer decided enough was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined! WhatsWrongWithMySocks's Avatar

Installing Linux

Hi there, first of all i just wanna let you know im pretty new to linux, although ive had a bash at fedora 7 before my computer decided enough was enough and died, but here i am wanting to get away from windows once more and with the extra time i have now i can put a bit more effort into getting a grasp of things

What i would like to know is which distro should i pick this time and would it support my computers wireless card as last time i spent a week on just messing with Ndiswrapper to get it to support my belkin FD7051 wireless adapter i did have success though and managed to get it to work although i had to manually load in the drivers myself when it started, anyway im now using a lenovo laptop here are the specs

Lenovo X61s
    Dual core 1.60 Ghz processor
    1 gig ddr2 ram
    intel 965 chipset 256mb graphics card

and my wireless card is a
    Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AG

The specifics of the card are here should you happen to want them,
    intel.com/network/connectivity/products/wireless/wireless_n/overview.htm

would i have alot of messing around to do if i installed a version of linux? I know theres always going to be tweaking and some issues i would have to attend to which i dont mind, well thanks for reading this post

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    One solution is to try several distros, evaluate their performance on your system and then stick with whatever works best for you. Personally I've found openSUSE and Mandriva to have very good hardware support.

Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AG