Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hello, I'm kinda new to Linux, though I've had some experience with it in the past. About two months ago I wanted to give Ubuntu (actually Linux in general) a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Not one distro works for me!

Hello,

I'm kinda new to Linux, though I've had some experience with it in the past.
    About two months ago I wanted to give Ubuntu (actually Linux in general) a try, so I downloaded it, burned it to a cd and installed it to dualboot together with my Windows XP. I didn't really had time to try Ubuntu, so after a week or so I decided to delete the partition, but Linux kept going through my mind as I wasn't really happy with Windows. So, after another try with Vista and Windows 7, here I am, wanting to go back to Linux. What's the problem then?

Well, not a single distro works! I did everything just the same as I did two months ago: downloaded the .iso, burned it and installed. I noticed that the booting from cd time was longer than normal, but after 45 minutes the install completed. I rebooted, got the Ubuntu sign.. but then a flashing _ appears on the left top of my screen. As I don't know much about Linux, I tried to reinstall, but the same problem appeared (though boot/install time was taking longer, about one hour this time)

Maybe it was just this Ubuntu distro, so I tried Fedora. Didn't even boot from cd.
    Tried OpenSUSE, which actually worked alright, but I didn't really like it and it ran slow. Tried Kubuntu, but same story as Ubuntu: really slow installation time, and after reboot the flashing _.