Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have seen this question elsewhere but cannot find it. However I am currently running Windows OS I have very little knowledge of Linux, but have a 1gig USB key ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

USB drive

I have seen this question elsewhere but cannot find it.

However I am currently running Windows OS I have very little knowledge of Linux, but have a 1gig USB key i would like to install a linux distro on I have seen various pages on this but it appears that you need to be running linux to do this in the first instance.

I do not want to walk around with a CD and a USB just the usb key.

I have ebven tried puppy linux installed the ISO onto a CD then copied it accross to my USB drive but that was no go although it looks for the drive on boot up and is bootable.

The only one i seen that looks quite good is Flonix USB Edition 1.0 but this is a buy it with a usb drive.

Any help at all.

Even if someoen has managed to do this on a USB drive would it be possible for them to zip it up and then post it onto a web site so other users could see it , I knwo a lot of other people have been trying with little or no success.

Linux Guru
    I'm not sure I understand your problem, but since no one else has made a go of it....

I think you are saying that you want to walk up to any given computer, plug in your usb key, and boot to the Linux OS on the key. Problem with this is that no computer that I know of can boot to the usb. That would be set by the BIOS and would not be changeable by mortals' means. It might be do-able with a floppy, although I doubt with just one: you can easily boot to GRUB with a floppy, but you need (I think) a driver for the usb, and for the driver, you need an OS. But your OS is on the other side of the usb.