Find the answer to your Linux question:
I tried loading Damn Small Linux and when my computer rebooted the second time (after selecting for it to boot from CD) it went to dos. I've looked everywhere and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

[SOLVED] problem loading damn small linux

I tried loading Damn Small Linux and when my computer rebooted the second time (after selecting for it to boot from CD) it went to dos. I've looked everywhere and havent found out how to load it and don't know anything about dos. I could use it if given step by step directions but otherwise I don't have much experience with it. Was it supposed to do that? If so, where are some good directions on how to get me from there to having it loaded or can anyone offer some advice? I have Windows XP right now and want to have them both on the computer. And yes, I'm new to Linux. Thanks!

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by NiteOwl View Post
    I tried loading Damn Small Linux and when my computer rebooted the second time (after selecting for it to boot from CD) it went to dos. I've looked everywhere and havent found out how to load it and don't know anything about dos.
    Welcome to the forums!

Linux doesn't use DOS at all, so I'm not understanding the question or problem. Can you describe the situation better? It would probably help others to help you if you can post any errors or screen messages, as well.

You can check the following HowTo for making sure you properly downloaded and burned the ISO file to the blank disk as an image:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...ll-cd-dvd.html
    oz

Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    Welcome to the forums!

Linux doesn't use DOS at all, so I'm not understanding the question or problem. Can you describe the situation better? It would probably help others to help you if you can post any errors or screen messages, as well.