Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have recently purchased an ACER ONE (AOA 110). I am new to the Linux stuff being brought up from birth on Windows The Fedora Core 8 which has been ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How do I clean install Fedora 11 from USB?

I have recently purchased an ACER ONE (AOA 110). I am new to the Linux stuff being brought up from birth on Windows

The Fedora Core 8 which has been preloaded is certainly not up to scratch as all I want the laptop for is to play MP4 and AVI files. I have looked over all the threads on how to load fedora 11 (recommended version), and have gone to the Fedora site to download the files (32-bit was also recommended - running a i686 Intel Atom).

1. My issue is do I download the files onto CD/DVD, then copy those straight onto a USB and boot from there, or can I find another way to get it directly onto a USB stick without having to waste a CD/DVD?

2. There is also mention of a clean install and partitions across quite a few threads but I can't see how to do these and in what order, and are they necessary?

Can someone help?

p.s there is no CD/DVD player on this machine so it can only be loaded from USB.

Just Joined!
    No you do not need to burn it to a cd/dvd you can copy it straight to a USB stick Here check out this link at Fedora it is a how to:
    fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedoraLiveCD/USBHowTo#How_to_Make_a_bootable_USB_Drive_to_Insta ll_Fedora_11_instead_of_using_a_physical_DVD

you will have to copy paste the I link. I am still below the post cap for adding url's : )

Fedora 12 is available here.

To make a bootable USB, use Unetbootin. It works on both Linux and Windows.

I also suggest to try Ubuntu Netbook Remix (UNR). It is great for the small screens of netbooks.
    Using a typical distro or windows in an 9" netbook will hurt your eyes eventually, but with UNR's interface, no problem.