Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I'm new to Linux and need to know if I can install Linux in particualr Scientific Linux on a personal laptop that has Windows Vista installed. Many thanks!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Installing Linux

Hi, I'm new to Linux and need to know if I can install Linux in particualr Scientific Linux on a personal laptop that has Windows Vista installed.
    Many thanks!

Hi and Welcome !

You can install as many Linux distros as you like in single Harddisk. Most of Linux installers detect Windows OS and setup dual boot itself.

First of all, boot up machine from Scientific Linux installation media and click on Disk Utility ( Partition Manager ) in Menu. Shrink existing partitions ( or use unallocated space of your harddisk, if any ) and create 2 new partitions.

* 12-15GB, ext3 for root (/)
    * 1GB, SWAP

Start installation and select Manual Partitioning in Partition Section. Assign / mount point to ext3 partition. Continue installation. Installer will detect SWAP and Windows OS partitions and setup dual boot.

If you have any question regarding partitions, execute fdisk -l command in Terminal and post output here.
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!

Thumbs up ext4

I would agree with everything you said, but I'd like to say a word about file type. Ubuntu 9.10 defaults to *ext4* and it has worked flawlessly since its release. If you plan to install Ubuntu 9.10 (or 10.40 in beta), I'd recommend ext4 instead.

* 12-15GB, ext4 for root (/)
    * 1GB, SWAP

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by Heymull View Post