Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
Hey there! So I installed Ubuntu 9.10 on my laptop. Thereafter, I installed Fedora 12 on another partition. Now when I boot, my bootloader lets me select Fedora 12 or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sellersburg, Indiana
    Posts
    11

    Error:13 Dual boot Fedora 12-Ubuntu 9.10


    Hey there! So I installed Ubuntu 9.10 on my laptop. Thereafter, I installed Fedora 12 on another partition. Now when I boot, my bootloader lets me select Fedora 12 or Ubuntu, kind of. When I select Ubuntu I get ERROR 13. Now... when I installed Fedora 12, I selected Ubuntu (or I thought) as another OS. Guess I messed up.

    I need to know how I would fix this problem. I know it has something to do with GRUB, either its' conf file or the menu list, but I really don't know how to make the changes.

    Any additional info you need, don't hesitate to ask. This is for school, so any quick responses would be doubly appreciated!

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Boot up Fedora and mount / partition of Ubuntu. Post filenames of /boot folder of Ubuntu here.
    Code:
    mkdir ubuntu
    su -c mkdir /dev/sdxy ubuntu
    ls ubuntu/boot
    Post the output of fdisk -l command too.
    Code:
    su -c /sbin/fdisk -l
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sellersburg, Indiana
    Posts
    11

    sorry

    Sorry that I haven't replied. I've been very busy with school and work along with other miscellaneous endeavors.

    So in terminal I type

    mkdir ubuntu
    su -c mkdir /dev/sdxy ubuntu
    ls ubuntu/boot
    and then

    su -c /sbin/fdisk -1
    I'll try it today between classes. Thanks and look for a post around 4pm!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Replace xy with actual device name assigned to partition like /dev/sda1 or b1.

    Its small L in fdisk -l
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sellersburg, Indiana
    Posts
    11
    Okay I followed your directions and this is what happened.

    [jdgreen@localhost ~]$ mkdir ubuntu
    mkdir: cannot create directory `ubuntu': File exists
    [jdgreen@localhost ~]$ su -c mkdir /dev/sda4 ubuntu
    su: user /dev/sda4 does not exist
    [jdgreen@localhost ~]$ ls ubuntu /boot
    /boot:
    config-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686 lost+found
    efi memtest86+-4.00
    elf-memtest86+-4.00 System.map-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686
    grub vmlinuz-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686
    initramfs-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.i686.img

    ubuntu:
    [jdgreen@localhost ~]$ su -c /sbin/fdisk -l
    Password:

    Usage: fdisk [-l] [-b SSZ] [-u] device
    E.g.: fdisk /dev/hda (for the first IDE disk)
    or: fdisk /dev/sdc (for the third SCSI disk)
    or: fdisk /dev/eda (for the first PS/2 ESDI drive)
    or: fdisk /dev/rd/c0d0 or: fdisk /dev/ida/c0d0 (for RAID devices)
    ...
    [jdgreen@localhost ~]$
    If i try
    fdisk -l /dev/sda4
    it says it cannot open the file. I didn't know how to mount the / partition of ubuntu. Unless that was included in the terminal commands in your directions?

  7. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Try just:
    Code:
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sellersburg, Indiana
    Posts
    11
    Got it! Thanks!

    [root@localhost jdgreen]# /sbin/fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xea7ca61e

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 498 4000153+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda2 499 9977 76140067+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 * 9978 10003 204800 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 10004 19457 75939255 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 10004 19457 75938816 8e Linux LVM

    Disk /dev/dm-0: 73.5 GB, 73530343424 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 8939 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

    Disk /dev/dm-1: 4227 MB, 4227858432 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 514 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    [root@localhost jdgreen]#
    A question: /dev/sda3 * 9978 10003 204800 83 Linux

    What does the * mean? Current partition in use?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You have mounted wrong partition. You are using Fedora's GRUB now and we need contents of Ubuntu's /boot folder so that we can edit Fedora's GRUB.

    Execute this in Fedora
    Code:
    mkdir ubuntu
    su -c mount -t ext3  /dev/sda2 ubuntu
    ls ubuntu/boot
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sellersburg, Indiana
    Posts
    11
    This is my result

    [jdgreen@localhost ~]$ su -c mount -t ext3 /dev/sda2 ubuntu
    su: invalid option -- 't'

  11. #10
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    From your current directory, execute
    Code:
    ls -l
    Post the output.
    Maybe you already have the proper directory in place.

    *EDIT*
    Those are both a lower case 'L'
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •