Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi All, How do I know which binutils I needs to instal? I have linux Linux 2.6.18-92.el5 #1 SMP Tue Apr 29 13:16:15 EDT 2008 x86_64. there are many binutils ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Question How do I know which binutils I needs to instal


    Hi All,

    How do I know which binutils I needs to instal? I have linux Linux 2.6.18-92.el5 #1 SMP Tue Apr 29 13:16:15 EDT 2008 x86_64.

    there are many binutils available at gnu.org in "software" in "binutils".
    I am not able to identify which for my machine.

    thank in advance for you reply.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hello and Welcome.
    Why don't you try the binutils that are provided for you in your system repos? You can probably install the latest version from Gnu.org if you just want to do it manually.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,665
    Since you seem to be using some derivative of Red Hat Enterprise Linux (el5 x86_64), you should use the ones available in the package manager yum. Execute this command as root: yum install binutils.x86_64
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Yeah, what he said!
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9
    Hi Rubberman

    First , Thanks for your response.

    I have used command "yum install binutils.x86_64" get following message.

    Loading "rhnplugin" plugin
    This system is not registered with RHN.
    RHN support will be disabled.
    Setting up Install Process
    Parsing package install arguments
    No package binutils.x86_64 available.
    Nothing to do

  7. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    I don't use RHEL systems at all, but it would be odd if they included in the architecture in the package name. Instead of binutils.x86_64, try just binutils.

    You can also do a search
    Code:
    yum search binutils
    Managing Software with yum

  8. #7
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,665
    Quote Originally Posted by Tunner View Post
    Hi Rubberman

    First , Thanks for your response.

    I have used command "yum install binutils.x86_64" get following message.

    Loading "rhnplugin" plugin
    This system is not registered with RHN.
    RHN support will be disabled.
    Setting up Install Process
    Parsing package install arguments
    No package binutils.x86_64 available.
    Nothing to do
    Try "yum install binutils". If you still cannot get it, you need to change your yum repositories since it appears that you don't have a valid support contract with Red Hat. You can change your base repositories to CentOS instead.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  9. #8
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    I'm pretty sure binutils package is part of the base system install on RHEL and should already be installed.

    Check with rpm -q binutils

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9
    sorry for late reply

    I have run rpm -q binutils and it show version as "binutils-2.17.50.0.6-6.el5" . But this binutils install by me manually earlier, before I started this thread/post. So I want to know is this binutils is proper for my install linux.

    or if it is not now how do I uninstalled it?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    if you installed one manually there should have been 2 listed when running the rpm -q command

    i still maintain that binutils is a package that is installed by default as it contains ld and many other things

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •