Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello, here is the current state. Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes 255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes Disk identifier: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    GRUB won't go to windows, but bios will


    Hello, here is the current state.

    Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x49701437

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 48631 390627483+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 48632 60300 93731242+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 60301 60801 4024282+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 60301 60801 4024251 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Disk /dev/sdb: 164.6 GB, 164696555520 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 20023 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x579818cd

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 20023 160833536 7 HPFS/NTFS


    title Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.26-2-amd64
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.26-2-amd64 root=/dev/sda2 ro quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.26-2-amd64

    title Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.26-2-amd64 (single-user mode)
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.26-2-amd64 root=/dev/sda2 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.26-2-amd64

    # This is a divider, added to separate the menu items below from the Debian
    # ones.
    title Other operating systems:
    root


    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sda1
    title Windows Vista/Longhorn (loader)
    root (hd1,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1


    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
    # on /dev/sdb1
    title Windows Vista/Longhorn (loader)
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1


    When I boot, I can grub into linux, but when I try to boot windows it doesn't work. It shows a screen where it lists the commands:
    root (hd1,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    and then starts beeping sporadically.
    However, if I change the harddrive boot order in bios I can easily get back into windows by selecting that harddrive for the first slot. However, I don't want to do this everytime I want to switch operating systems. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho USA
    Posts
    362
    What happens when you select the 2nd Vista title ?
    I assume that MS Windows is one sdb1, what is on sda1 ?
    What MS Windows are you booting ?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    The same thing happens when I select the second one. Those were added automatically, but the harddrives were wrong, so I changed them to the right ones. Initially they were listed as root (hd0,0) iirc (it seems like it detected windows wrong).
    Yes windows is on sdb1, sda1 is just data, no OS.
    It is windows vista.
    Thank you for your help.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho USA
    Posts
    362
    The second Vista title look ok to me but try:
    title Windows Vista
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1

    and:
    title Windows Vista
    root (hd1,0)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Didn't work.
    The beeping is high low high low high low (continuously) frequencies.

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho USA
    Posts
    362
    Have no idea why it would beep.
    Do you have any devices plug into USB,firewire, card reader devices ? If so remove them, to test.
    Is it still the same problem from first post or is it different ?
    Is it a mix of IDE/Pata and Sata hdds ?
    I'm basicly out of ideas.

    Mybe try booting to the 2nd hdd MBR vice directly to Vista:
    rootnoverify (hd0)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1

    I think above would be correct, have never tried it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •