Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
hi, i have installed fedora 12(from dvd) on my laptop having window 7 OS as deafult(intel processor i330) I wanted dual boot up, so I shrink the existing C partition ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    [SOLVED] window 7 is not powering up after fedora 12 installation


    hi, i have installed fedora 12(from dvd) on my laptop having window 7 OS as deafult(intel processor i330)
    I wanted dual boot up, so I shrink the existing C partition using window using Disk Management. And then delete the newly created volume.
    And install feora 12(64 bit) with option "using free space".
    Clean installation of fedora.

    But when I tried to boot window as it was not able find any window OS.
    Although from linux all hardrive is coming as one file system and all data on Drive are intact i.e not data is lost.

    anybody have idea why its happening like this and how install fedora keeping Window 7 as well(dual boot).

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    boot up into fedora and run these commands and post back results
    Code:
    su -
    /sbin/fdisk -l

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4
    I have attached the screenshot for your reference. Please let me know whats the issue and how to resolve it.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    i can barely read that image, it would have been easier to just post back the text next time

    partitions are intact, which one is the windows partition with OS files on it? windows partition should be set with bootable flag, linux partition doesn't need this

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4
    This is the output for the command /sbin/fdisk -l:
    [root@VIVEK vivek]# /sbin/fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x9ea24b00

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 1772 14227456 27 Unknown
    /dev/sda2 1772 1785 102400 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 1785 35089 267518976 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda4 35089 38914 30720000 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 * 35090 35115 204800 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 35115 38439 26700799+ 8e Linux LVM

    Disk /dev/dm-0: 22.0 GB, 22036873216 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2679 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

    Disk /dev/dm-1: 5301 MB, 5301600256 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 644 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    [root@VIVEK vivek]# ^C
    [root@VIVEK vivek]# ^C

  7. #6
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    are you getting a grub error or is there just no option to boot into windows? I'm not sure what version of grub you are using, but you can post /boot/grub/menu.lst if it exists or /boot/grub/grub.cfg if that is what exists

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Smile Probloem is now resolved

    Hi coopstah13... Thanks for your support.
    Problem is now fixed by replacing
    title Other
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1

    in grub file with

    title window7
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1

    now window is able to boot up and linux is also working fine.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21

    open the linux side and

    Open your linux and let it go look at the windows partition and see why it is not booting . . And if all else fails save the files you want from the windows side . . and then format the drive and install the version of Linux you like and add Virtual Box then install windows of your liking inside of that . . MUCH better and windows dos not die as much Only been using it this way now for a few weeks and it seems STABLE and does not want to crash . . Like windblows likes to do I have a customer who I had to fix his windows crap EVERY 3 weeks ! ! I did it to his computer and now I have not seen him for months ! ! ! Gee I almost miss him LOL

  10. #9
    Just Joined! bendib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    &Imeuta >> 4.7777777777777777
    Posts
    21
    At the GRUB prompt which can be reached by hitting esc repeatedly the SECOND your machine finishes POST or maybe a little early, which is needed in newer versions of fedora, type c to get to the prompt, and type root (hd0,2) then chainloader +1 and then boot. You might try (hd0,1) as I see there is another partition created by Windoze.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •