Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am currently using a brand new install of Windows XP pro after a long time of crappy computing with my old version of XP. During the time I was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

So I'm a Linux noob, can I get some help?

I am currently using a brand new install of Windows XP pro after a long time of crappy computing with my old version of XP. During the time I was trying to find an install disc, I stumbled upon Linux and decided to try it. I downloaded Ubuntu, made a CD and popped it in. But whenever I hit %100 on the installation, it says the computer's temp has reached capacity and it shuts down. This is odd; because I'm blowing air directly into the machine via a computer fan. So that's my main question: how do I get it to finish installing? (I think it has something to do with using NTFS?) I also gave my entire hard drives to Windows XP, so how can I make a partition? I have more than 10 gigs of space for Ubuntu primed for use.

Also, when I finish installation, will I be able to install my desktop adapter into Ubuntu? The product is a DWA-552 Xtreme N Desktop Adapter from D-Link (I would post the product page directly but I need 15 posts to do that. Search DWA-552 on google and the first link shoulddo it.)

Thanks for any advice.

it says the computer's temp has reached capacity and it shuts down. This is odd; because I'm blowing air directly into the machine via a computer fan
    Just curious. Does XP shut down to after awhile. Why the fan? Not sure about the wifi adapter. Might want to concentrate on the overheat issue first.

Have you cleaned out dust bunnies yet in computer?

I think Everest Home Edition from Major geeks will give you temp readings in XP so as to see what your computer is doing as far as temps in Windows.
    (I think it has something to do with using NTFS?)
    How are you installing Ubuntu? To a NTFS partition?